Skip to content

photography practice

December 8, 2010

I recently got a fab new camera for my bday/christmas and I have been practicing hard to figure out all the settings and taking pictures and all that. I am looking for a class too in the Seattle area. If you know of a good one let me know! Anyway, I shared with you all the photo of my puppy being a fabulous model, but I thought I would share some other photos I have taken. Let me know if you have feedback. I’m dying to learn more!

{all photographed by me}

2 Comments leave one →
  1. James Mears permalink
    December 8, 2010 11:40 am

    Hi Brooke,

    The obvious thing about photography is that it is (literally) the study of light. This is the most important element and the most challenging. This is followed by the usual artistic elements such as color, shape, texture, line, etc. which all combine to form composition. So, begin to notice the way light plays upon various objects. Also, be aware that every element in a composition must be essential. Otherwise, eliminate it.

    To take one of your photos above, the wire with what appear to be backlit dewdrops. This works because of the element of light and the sharpness of the wire in contrast to the out of focus background. It would work better as a vertical composition because that is the direction of the main element, the wire. Also, vertical compositions are more dynamic, whereas horizontal ones are more passive and static. Both have their places. Also, be aware that even though the background is out of focus, it is still an important element and can work to help highlight your subject.

    I hope some of this helps. Keep shooting!

    • Brooke permalink*
      December 8, 2010 11:59 am

      Thanks for the feedback. This was literally the second time I had used my new camera. I love it so far!

Leave a Reply

