Skip to content

Vegan Recipe: Alicia Silverstone's Sweet Potato and Lentil Stew

September 27, 2010

Don’t get me wrong, I eat meat. When I returned from Germany after feasting on weiner schnitzel and brats on a daily basis, I felt very strongly that I needed to balance out something in the world. Also, it was a plus that I would loose a few lbs too. Well, I did just that. I returned from the most amazing country of Germany, ate a vegan diet for 2 weeks (I missed my cheese), and stayed with a plant based diet for 3 months. I had set a date in mind as a goal because I was not planning on making the diet a life long change, and surpassed my goal. I felt amazing and had lost about 10 pounds!

Well now its been a couple months since I have let meat back into my diet and sadly I am feeling the effects through my waistline. Back to vegan for a couple of weeks!

I think that Alicia Silverstone’s book, The Kind Diet, and her website The Kind Life, are the best resources for anyone looking to dabble in this lifestyle. She really gives it to you straight, and she understands what you would be going through during the change because she used to eat meat. Today I used her cookbook to prepare a couple things to help me get through the week.

{via Café VegNews}

Sweet Potato and Lentil Stew

1/4 c safflower oil

1 medium onion, diced

2 small tomatoes, diced

1 teaspoon minced fresh ginger

1 1/2 teaspoons turmeric

1 teaspoon cumin

1 teaspoon ground coriander

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/8 teaspoon cayenne (I like spice, so I upped this one and added a generous amount in comparison)

fine sea salt

2-3 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into 3/4″ cubes

7 cups vegetable broth

1 cup brown lentils

*I also added 2-3 garlic cloves, diced

Heat the oil over medium heat in a large, deep pot. Add the onion and cook, stirring frequently, for 2 minutes or until the onion starts to soften. Stir in the tomatoes and ginger (and garlic if you are adding) and cook for 3 minutes. Stir in the turmeric, cumin, coriander, cinnamon, cayenne, and a small pinch of salt. Cook and stir for 2 minutes, then taste for seasonings; try to use only enough salt to heighten the flavors.

Add the sweet potatoes, broth, and lentils. Stir well, and bring to a boil over high heat. When the mixture comes to a boil, reduce the heat, cover, and simmer for 40 minutes or until the lentils and sweet potatoes are soft.

And that’s it! Enjoy! I made brown rice to pour mine over (per Alicia’s suggestion). It’s delicious and so flavorful. You won’t even miss the meat!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

