Skip to content

Christmas Nostalgia

November 3, 2009

GluhweinWhen I think back on my memories of the Holidays, I remember Mom’s custom Christmas nightgowns with ruffles at the bottom flipping up in front of my seven-year-old feet as I scamper down the hall and tearing down the stairs. I turn the corner and notice a red glow coming from the family room. My face lights up and my eyes widen as I see before me the most beautiful Christmas tree that arrived overnight from down the chimney. I remember slamming my head into my pillow once I heard Santa’s sleigh bells overhead so that I would be asleep when he would visit my house. I remember cuddling up in a blanket, sweat pants and socks watching Albert Finney’s Scrooge with my parents. But, when I think of Christmas in a cup, I remember sipping Glühwein out of a festive mug while wandering the Christmas Markets in Vienna, Austria.

 

Since then, I have been inspired to explore making Glühwein on my own and spreading the joy of mulled wine with my friends. So far it has been a huge success and I have gotten many requests to keep the Glühwein coming for future Holiday get together.

 

Here is a recipe for everyone to try courtesy of bellaonline.com:

 

Glühwein – German Mulled Wine Recipe

Guest Author – Paula S.W. Laurita

 

Ingredients

 

4 quarts dry red wine (zinfandel, merlot, burgundy, etc.)

1 pint brandy

1 cup sugar

6 cinnamon sticks

12 cloves, whole

1/8 tsp allspice

1/8 tsp mace

2 oranges, sliced

1 lemon, sliced

 

Directions

Pour the wine into a large pot and begin heating over low heat.

As it begins to warm, add sugar and spices. Stir until sugar is dissolved.

Add the brandy.

Heat thoroughly, but do not allow to boil!

Add the lemon and orange.

Steep for about 1 hour over low heat.

You may add more sugar during this time if desired, stirring well so it dissolves.

Serve hot and garnish with orange slices. A stick cinnamon could also be used.

 

No comments yet

Leave a comment